Where Do I Want To Work?

93568bc8ddbbf2276432543f0672ac68ea856fa550df24c0756288f2d172508f9675a2dce2ff8cfb17330ff5d013d1127474d3cb7146593c0f7b4dae71ac2b3a

My time working with different publications has given me experience with figuring out what kind of environment I’d want to work in. I’ve gravitated towards Scandinavian design magazines like Kinfolk or Flow that focus on artists and wholesome living.

What I’d realistically be doing for these magazines would probably be entry level work, but that would be ok with me. I love the idea of helping the content creators get their creativity out there. I’d then probably want to climb my way up, working with editing or possibly styling. The main goal would be to write actual pieces for them that would influence readers the way that I’ve been so influenced in the past.

The media kit for Kinfolk discloses a lot about the publication and their vision, and all of it drew me to it even further. In it, they say:
-Kinfolk is a slow lifestyle magazine published by Ouur that explores ways for readers to simplify their lives, cultivate community and spend more time with their friends and family.

-Founded in 2011, Kinfolk is now the leading independent lifestyle magazine for young creative professionals and also produces international editions in Japan, China, Korea and Russia. Published quarterly, Kinfolk maintains a vibrant contributor base from Copenhagen to Cape Town.

The more I learned about the company, the more I fell in love with the photography and overall theme they promoted. If you ever see an issue out and about, I highly recommend treating yourself to it and getting lost in the pages.

-Heather

Leave a Reply

