Spring In The Air (In Boston)

So if you didn’t know this, on the first day of spring in Boston, we got a ton of snow. It didn’t really feel like spring, which was disappointing. But you know what always gets me in the mood for it? Spring cleaning.

_DSC0217

I picked up the crazy popular book The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo (I know I’m embarrassingly late to the game here people) and within a few chapters, I was minimizing the things I actually needed in my dorm. That meant sorting through my closet and deciding what could stay in the limited space I had.

_DSC0222.jpg

This left me with a lot of basics. And you know what? I’m really happy with that. As the weather gets warmer, I’ll be using my best quality pieces together, most of the time layering (like I did here). In New England, Spring is unpredictable, and you could find yourself without a jacket at 9 a.m. and then clutching a huge scarf as a blanket by 5 p.m.

Shirt- J.Crew

Cardigan- H&M

Jacket- Express

Scarf- Madewell

 

Other Details of the Day

 

_DSC0223

The differences in textures in this picture was very pleasing to me, with the fur and the quilting of my boots.

Boots- Tommy Hilfiger

Bag- DKNY

Watch- Daniel Wellington

Rings- Both handmade

_DSC0224

I’ve really been into peach colors and gold lately. I think having Rose-Quartz be Pantone’s Color Of The Year has something to do with it. I’ve been enjoying warm pinks and gold foil. I’ve also been trying to use more wholesome beauty products to get my skin clearer.

Sunglasses- Forever 21 (VERY OLD)

iPhone 6 Case- Rifle Paper & Co.

Hair Clip- Francesca’s

Lotion- Not Soap Radio (Phoenix)

Hair Oil- n4

 

I hope this might give someone that minimalist inspiration that the book gave me. Cleaning things out and taking a look at your best pieces can do wonders for your mind. I find getting up and getting changed in the morning is so much easier now. I’ll try to keep updated on if I’m staying tidy.

-The Slightly-More-Tidy Heather ✩

One thought on “Spring In The Air (In Boston)

  1. I love your blanket scarf! Buffalo weather is similar to New England’s…. We had a really warm last two weeks of winter and this first week of spring feels like it’s February all over again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

