Spring Breakfast Smoothie| Blueberries & Oats

smoothie1smoothie2

I never thought I’d be one of those people that would drink a “smoothie” as their breakfast (I love pancakes and eggs!) but since the weather is getting nice, I wanted to explore some more refreshing options. I always love oatmeal, and this is a great way to still get the nutrition and heartiness of the oats, but without having a hot meal. This is a pretty thick smoothie, but it feels like it should be since it’s taking place of a breakfast. All the ingredients included are things you might have just laying around, which is why I made it! Hopefully it’ll be a quick and easy option in the morning when you want some fruit but you don’t have time for a big to-do.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • an orange (peeled)
  • 3/4 cup rolled (or old-fashioned) oats
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk

I cut my orange into a few pieces so that it would blend easier. This has a lot of oats because it’s meant to be a nice hearty drink, and the longer you let it stand after blending, the thicker it will get. If you’d rather less oats and have more of a traditional smoothie consistency, you can cut down on the oats. Once you have everything in the blender, blend it until thoroughly combined. (I had mine on purée for about a minute)

If you end up trying this out, let me know how it goes! Like I said, I don’t make smoothies a lot since a lot of the recipes call for a lot of sugar and I don’t see the point in drinking a lot of your calories that way. However, this really makes you feel like you’ve eaten a nice meal in the morning, and the ingredients leave you feeling energized! I can’t wait to continue this drink with some other fruit options as well.

Sincerely,

-A Very Energized Heather

 

 

3 thoughts on “Spring Breakfast Smoothie| Blueberries & Oats

Leave a Reply

