Timberwolf

T7

I’m here doing another color focus, this time with another shade of gray (shocking!). I know this might be repetitive, but there are many shades of gray (insert pun here) and I love understanding each of them. Timberwolf is a shade that has a bit more taupe in it, differing from French Gray because it lacks those violet tones in it. Instead, it is slightly green, and a little bit more dull. Don’t think for a second that means that it’s lackluster, because it’s actually a very beautiful tone.

T4T9

This color reminds me of the perfect overcast day in spring, right before the rain, when you know a storm is coming. I’m excited for those days since the winter hasn’t thawed away yet. It’s a lush, energetic feeling that can be captured in Timberwolf. It’s ever-present in nature (hence the name). But I did my best to capture it in the tone of these pictures.

T6

This color has a vintage feel, the timeless shade of an era. It’s in the sky, in old silver, in aged wood. I placed these amazing flowers into this silver vessel, and I watched the way the green sprigs were reflected against the gray. It changes it’s color. It brings some life into it’s tone.

T2

This color is stunning to me, and I’ve noticed that I’m drawn to these slightly dreary colors. Of course to me, they are beautiful, but the pattern is that they tend to not be incredibly vibrant. I’m hoping I’ll have time to explore some new places on a foggy day to capture more colors like this.

 

A quote I’ve been thinking about:

“Sometimes I wonder if my whole life will pass by this way: me waiting in the shadows, waiting for something to happen. Waiting for someone else to make it happen. Something new or different or crazy and amazing. I‘ve been there for so long, letting everyone else figure it out for me, floating along without much direction or conscious thought. Reacting.”
— Sarah Ockler, Fixing Delilah

Leave a Reply

