How To Beat Brain Fog

bf

Hello everyone!

Since it’s summer, it’s getting hot, and laziness is probably right around the corner, I’m going to share some tips to get rid of “brain fog” (aka, when you don’t want to get any work done). Brain fog is also a creative struggle, sort of like writer’s block, where it’s hard to creatively push forward because you’re in a funk. This used to happen to me at school all the time, and it’s happened sometimes since I’ve moved home as well. Here’s how I beat it.

bf2

The first thing that is essential when getting rid of brain fog is not something you’ll want to do, and it’s cleaning. When my living or workspace is cluttered, I can’t get any work done, let alone come up with new ideas. Declutter, read that fancy book about tidying up, and then tidy up so that you can get down to business.

The next step is to wake up early, and actually do it. Lately, I’ve been setting my alarm for very early in the morning, and then I hit snooze. Push through it, and wake yourself up, because getting up in the early morning before anyone is awake is sometimes very beautiful, and I’ve gotten excellent writing ideas at that time.

Here’s one for a creative break through the brain fog: keep a book on you. Remember how Jess in Gilmore Girls always had a book in his back pocket? Being well-read will keep your brain expanding, and you’ll find yourself coming up with all sorts of ideas. I’ve been trying to go through a book a week and continuing to get new ones from the library, which has been a lot of fun and keeps me inspired.

bf3

Here’s a few more ideas: go out and do something different that you normally never do. Whether that’s hiking, going to a bookstore, getting a coffee in a new spot, as long as it’s new territory, it will amp up your ideas.

The last thing is, surf the internet, but do it with a deliberate goal in mind. Don’t just wander through tumblr or Instagram aimlessly, look for interesting places and photography that might get those gears going.

These are just some of my ideas for what I do when I need a kick in the butt to get my work done. There are times that when you work from home, it’s tempting to not want to get dressed and just lay around all day, especially when the weather is nice. But I’ve been trying to be more strict with myself to do as much work as I can throughout the day. I hope this helped a little bit, let me know what your tactics are.

“She stood

in the storm, 

& when the 

wind did not

blow her way,

she adjusted

her sails”

-Elizabeth Edwards

Leave a Reply

