Spending A Day In

bed1bed2

There are some days when the world is too much and you need to take some time for yourself. This usually happens to me when I’ve gotten no sleep and my immune system is down and I just need to take a day to stop everything and hit refresh.

bed3

There is a Swedish word called “Lagom,” which means “just right,” although some say it translates to “living in moderation.” I really like that idea. I work very hard when i’m given a task, and I won’t stop until I’ve done it up to my standards. Having that kind of an attitude towards any work you do, whether it’s marketing, writing, or business, can wear you down emotionally. Sometimes working hard means taking time for yourself every once in awhile to ensure you can keep working hard.

When I was in high school, I would sometimes have days that I wasn’t exactly physically sick, but I wouldn’t feel ready to go to school. My mom wouldn’t make me go, because she knew that if I was allowed to take the time off when I felt I needed it, I would go when it mattered. In college, I got great grades and strived to get every single assignment done, for four years! I was able to do that through taking the time off when I felt it was deserved. I still showed respect to my teachers and I still made up my work, but having that day off to stay in bed and rest always recharged me again.

Let’s face it, we live in a fast-paced world. Sometimes it’s going so quickly that all we are worried about is measuring our material success. There is something deeper inside of us that needs to be balanced in order for us to feel fulfilled. If that means staying home and having a bath and not bothering to leave the house at all, so be it. If that means eating cookie dough and sleeping, so be it (I may have done this).

bed4

On this particular day, I hadn’t slept all night. I have terrible insomnia which I can sometimes get a handle on. Last night was not one of those nights.

I woke up this morning and decided I wasn’t bothering with getting changed or doing any work or even looking at my makeup.

I made some oatmeal after sleeping in (with apples, cinnamon, and nutmeg, by the way) and poured some tea. I surrounded myself with the beautiful flowers that have been finding their way into my house. I picked up a book and read it all day (currently reading Dear Scott, Dearest Zelda).

bed5

Sometimes taking a day off doesn’t even have to be from you work, it just has to be from routine. Do you ever find yourself doing the same thing over and over again, every single Saturday and Sunday? Instead of reaping the benefits of the weekend by going out every morning and staying busy until sundown, try staying in and filling your day with doing absolutely nothing.

Doesn’t that sound nice?

bed6

 

Let me know what your favorite things to do are on a day off.

 

 

“True happiness is… to enjoy the present, without anxious 

dependance upon the future,”

-Lucius Annaeus Senenca

 

Leave a Reply

