Tea Time // Am I Happy?

dscf1025

Hello everyone,

I wanted to make another post that might be a bit ramble/aimless but still honest. I think it’s time to talk about happiness. It’s a broad, scary, confusing emotion, and I want to sink into it a bit.

When I graduated from college at the beginning of the summer, I had no idea where I was going and what I would be doing by the fall, and as of right now, it is September, and there have been no improvements.

Well, to be fair, there were some improvements.

I worked for my mom the whole summer and seriously boosted her social media and marketing as well as helping her for the numerous weddings that we had to set up. I also applied to many jobs and sent many applications, all while learning to take care of things around the house and how to properly cook and all that jazz.

dscf1026

Amongst all of the plant watering and pastry making and book reading, I stopped today to ask myself if I was happy. I do a lot of things that make me happy, like get coffee in the morning and draw and write at night. I’ve bought a lot of candles, and those seem to make me happy for sure. When it comes down to it, even without a steady job, without my own place to live, and without some sense of direction, I really still am happy.ย 

dscf1027

There’s a lot of stuff going on in our world at the moment, scary stuff. Things that make you want to hide in a hole or perhaps move to another country. This forces people to try and weed out the unhappiness in their lives, and I think I’ve managed to do that. There are people that aren’t really around anymore that I am clearly living without, and I still wake up every day and the sun still rises along with me and we are all still moving forward. The transition to being here is a bit rocky, and ahead of me doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of relief. But my day-to-day activities are enjoyable, and as I’m cleaning up the house or running errands, I feel lucky to be alive and safe, and that surely makes me feel happy.

I hate to be such a blatant book-lover, but I give some credit to books.

Escapism has allowed me to live a thousand lives and write a thousand other stories, even while my mundane world ticks on. But even so, I count myself luckyย because there are people that are blinded by so many emotions that they aren’t capable of asking themselves if they are truly happy, and they probably are not.

What are your feelings towards happiness?

-Heather

2 thoughts on “Tea Time // Am I Happy?

Leave a Reply

