My September Favorites.

dscf1082

Hello everyone!

I’m aware of the fact that I am super early for a “favorites” blog post as it is September 24th, but I wanted to express some unconditional favorites that I’ve been enjoying this month. Usually for a “Favorites” post, I would talk about specific products, pieces of clothing, brands, music, etc. But today I wanted to talk about some small life favorites that I’ve been experiencing. As you may know, this is my first year that I’m not going to school in the fall, and as a result, I’ve been trying to make up some other rituals for myself. Some sort of structure is in order for Autumn, you can just feel it in the air. I look for comfort in routines, and then, every so often, breaking that routine.

This month has been a little weird. There are a lot of changes happening for a lot of people in my life, but I am at a standstill. That isn’t a bad thing. But it is something that takes getting used to. And while I have some projects and opportunities coming my way, I have been working on small things to do for myself. I’m aware of the fact that when I get a job and have to move away from this home, I might not have the time for these luxuries anymore.

dscf1083dscf1085

September is beautiful, isn’t it? It really is a time to appreciate the changing world and to change along with it.

dscf1086

Here are the things I’ve been enjoying this September:

1) A morning cup of tea

Having the time to make a hot drink and enjoy it before my day starts has been so therapeutic. Sometimes I’m by myself, and other times, I share a cup with my mom. Either way, it lets my brain relax and enjoy the morning. Also, hot drinks tend to make you feel more comfy, so when I get out of bed feeling a little unbalanced, a cup of tea is the right fix.

dscf1088

2) Taking off my makeup after a long day

I love putting on makeup. It makes me feel beautiful and it makes me feel like I’m treating myself. But after a long day of sweating and working and driving and living, taking off that war paint is really wonderful. I love the feeling of having a fresh face, of seeing my natural skin again.

I usually use a normal makeup remover on a cotton pad, and then I use witch hazel as a toner. That leaves my skin feeling incredibly fresh before bed.

dscf1091

3) Having makeup-free days

This is something I’ve been doing a lot more, and I’m proud of myself for it!

It’s easy to give in and paint up your face because wearing makeup is such a cultural norm that we all do it every day. But a good friend of mine has her “makeup-free” days where she wears nothing on her face and gives it a break, and she always looks beautiful. That really inspired me, so when I feel like my skin needs a break and my pores need to be clear, I give myself a day (or two! or three!) without makeup. And hey, if anyone sees you and you feel scared, just remember that makeup is literally just colored stuff we slather on our skin because we think we look better, and underneath it, we all have bare faces.

dscf1092

 

What have you been enjoying this month? Besides products or brands, is there anything you’ve been doing that really allows you to enjoy your day? I will definitely continue doing “normal” favorites blog posts, but I felt this one was in order. I am getting ready for a weekend with a good friend of mine and preparing for a busy month ahead. Cue the spooky music and Halloween decorations, because I am ready. Any costume recommendations?

-Heather

2 thoughts on “My September Favorites.

Leave a Reply

