Get Ready With Me (For a Picnic)

dscf1093

Hello everyone,

I am seriously enjoying this 60 degree weather because during the day it is the perfect temperature to have a picnic. I’ve seen so many cute picnic ideas and even though mine was just in my backyard with some fruit, it’s fun to treat yourself to something like this. I did some fun makeup this morning, really taking my time with my eyeshadows and eyeliner so I could enjoy it. I did a kind of smokey brown eyeshadow with winged liner and then a pop of red lips. The colors were perfect for an early Autumn picnic outside.

This isn’t going to be a tutorial or anything, I’ll just go through what I used and what products/piece of clothing I wore today!

dscf1094

Here’s my little makeup station. It’s very messy right now and has lots of items here that aren’t beauty related, but they make the table look nice. I started off with dry shampoo because I’m on third day hair and needed a little bit of help with texture.

For skincare I used my daily moisturizer that has SPF, and then the NYX undereye treatment. I spritz my skin with this Cucumber Water face mist by Pearlessence.

I used Physician’s Formula Tinted Moisturizer for light coverage and a dewy finish. For my contour, I used the Anastasia Contour Kit, and for my blush I used MAC’s Trace Gold. My eyeshadow was a shimmery-finish warm brown that I blended and blended until it faded across my lid. Then I used my liquid eyeliner (Line Exact by Covergirl) to make a subtle wing. Lastly, I used a bright red matte lipstick (POP Beauty’s “Cozy Crimson”).

dscf1103dscf1106

The shirt that I’m wearing is from Target (go Target!) and I wore a simple navy pleated skirt with it. Today was actually the first day that I wore tights! I felt ok outside without a jacket on, and I brought my hat from Target in case there was too much sun. I got these oxford-styled flats at TJMaxx awhile ago on sale. I also brought out that cucumber water again because spritzing it on my face is so refreshing.

dscf1107

And as you can see here, my dog came over to check out what was going on. In doing so, he kind of knocked everything around. It takes a lot of time to set up a picture! Eventually I gave in and let him sit wherever he wanted. He didn’t touch any of the fruit, just tried to eat at my little plants.

I really believe in taking a day to do something different, even if that means going outside for an hour or so and enjoying the afternoon. The days are getting cooler, which I am eternally grateful for, but I still feel like I need to squeeze as many outdoor activities in as I can before we are trembling once we set foot outside. Picnics are a great way to do that.Β I ate some fruit and drank some water and read a lot of books.

You can see my sunglasses peeking in those pictures, those are from Target as well. You just can’t beat Target.

dscf1108

I think when fall comes around a lot of people think of deep and dark colors for lipstick, and this morning, I was reaching for one. But I wanted something a bit more colorful and bright. The truth is, as much as I’m singing happily as each leaf falls, it’s still sunny and beautiful here, and the afternoons are warm. I think that I’ll try to find a balance between the fall trends that are popular right now and the summery pieces that I’ve been wearing these past few months. I was looking at Scandinavian Autumn fashion, and they have pops of color in with their basic blacks, whites, and grays. That is my inspiration this year.

As I’m typing this, I’m sitting on a sheet, accompanied by my wonderfully rambunctious dog, and a cool breeze is traveling through the trees. I am so happy to be sharing it with you. I’m so happy to be experiencing it at all. This is truly the most magical time of year. I hope you are as in love with it as I am.

Soon, I’m sure I’ll be wearing coats and scarves and berry lipsticks. But for now, let’s celebrate this in-between time. Transitions are strange and beautiful.

How are you doing? Any picnics lately? What did you pack?

-Heather

3 thoughts on “Get Ready With Me (For a Picnic)

Leave a Reply

