Book Club (October 4th, 2016)

dscf1176dscf1177

This is the best time of year for everything, especially reading. I’ve been upping my book game and trying to read a lot more and a lot faster so I can get to everything I want to. The air is wonderful and cool and perfect to bring out a picnic blanket and a good story. The library nearest to be has been being renovated, and I’m going today to see how it turned out. While I’m there, I plan on bringing home a lot more books. When I will read them all, well, we will see.

dscf1178

Book I Read: The Muse by Jessie Burton

This book started off very strong for me and I felt incredibly intrigued by the characters and plot. Towards the middle it got more tedious but I pushed through it because it was a 14 day rental at the library.

Quote from the book: “I’ve seen what success does to people, Isaac, how it separates them from their creative impulse, how it paralyses them. They can’t make anything that isn’t a horrible replica of what came before, because everyone has opinions on who they are and how they should be.”

dscf1179

I’d say if you like a good art themed-mystery, maybe something a little less intense than The Da Vinci Code, you might like this. The characters were well thought out and interesting, and the story had twists and turns that were really interesting. The author has a great tone in her writing and the visuals were very enjoyable!

Have you read this book? Let me know what you think. I’d love to read the first book she wrote, which is called The Miniaturist. Has anyone read that one as well?

-Heather

Leave a Reply

