“I see the turning of a leaf dancing in an Autumn sun” |Newport Trip|

newport1newport2newport3

I think one of my favorite things about Newport is the homes. And while The Breakers is a huge mansion unattainable by most standards, the craziest part about it is that at one time, it was simply someone’s home.

The other houses in Newport are fascinating too. They are all unique, boasting something different. They have differing windows and arches. The colors of them on the day I shot these were wonderful. My favorite colors are browns and grays, and all of this looked perfect with the overcast sky. I was swearing a big scarf to keep me warm and it certainly felt like October. Rhode Island in the fall is magical.

newport4

The sea was beautiful too.

My new camera was able to pick up so much detail, and I am so so happy that I decided to bring it on our trip.

newport5newport6

The comparison of The Breakers (grandiose, stone, castle-like) and the other small houses around it are startling. But the tiny cottages sprinkled around the coast are just as charming with their stone chimneys and little gardens. I had just as much fun taking pictures on the street as I did near the mansions.

newport7

Going back to Newport reminded me of when I was much younger. I haven’t been back in many years, and when I had gone back, we didn’t get to see all of this. I remember when my father lived down there and we would go into downtown at night before Starbucks closed. We strolled through the galleries again to see the new artists that have emerged.

I gained a lot of inspiration from this trip. Not only did the pictures come out good, but I had an idea for a story. As you may know, National Novel Writing Month is in November and I am participating! I was lingering around the story I wanted to write because I couldn’t decide on a location. I think I’ve made my decision now.

newport8

I truly had a wonderful trip walking by the sea and bundling up against the wind. There is something wonderful about October, especially in this place. Old meets the new and people of all types can be found enjoying it together.

Have you ever been to Newport? Let me know your favorite places to go. We love Ma’s Donuts, we go every single time we’re in town. We also ate at Benjamin’s in Downtown and I had the best Haddock of my life. I’ll be remembering this trip for a long time.

You can see what I’m up to on Instagram, Tumblr, and Pinterest, if you’d like!

-Heather

Leave a Reply

