Book Club (October 15th, 2016)

dscf1189

I bought a book last week and I literally did not put the thing down. I could not put it down.

The book was In a Dark Dark Wood by Ruth Ware. I had heard and seen a lot about this book, so I went to Barnes and Noble and took the plunge.

dscf1190

Can I just say, if you are looking for a spooky or tense book for October to give you the Halloween feels, this is the one to get.

dscf1191

I remember buying this and starting the first few chapters. I was hooked, and I took it everywhere (in the bath, up to New Hampshire, into bed) just so that I could finish it.

dscf1192

Favorite quote:“There’s a disappointment in the banality of what makes people tick, but at the same time, there’s a kind of fascination at seeing the inner coils and cogs.”

I think the reason I connected with this so much was the reluctance of the narrator to go to an event that will drudge up her past, and the fact that for a lot of the story, she’s unreliable. I, too, hate running into people from high school. I totally understand the anxiety that rises with encountering an ex, or even hearing about an ex. Also, she is a writer, and I found her personality very relatable. I was so invested in this story that I woke up early and stayed up late to sneak chapters in. It was totally engulfing, and I highly recommend it to everyone since it was written so incredibly well.

 

One last quote from the book to stay with you:

“The night was drawing in, and the house felt more and more like a glass cage, blasting its light blindly out into the dusk, like a lantern in the dark. I imagined a thousand moths circling and shivering, drawn inexorably to its glow, only to perish against the cold inhospitable glass.”

Are you hooked?! I hope so.

Leave a Reply

