SOME STUFF I’M LOVING (Beauty, Book, Writing, etc.)

dscf1207

I can’t believe it’s more than halfway through October. How is this all happening so quickly? I’m seeing the Christmas decorations in stores and I do not feel emotionally ready to take that on.

Our weather is unseasonably warm, so much so that we had the air conditioning on the other day. As I’m typing this my windows are wide open and there is no cold breeze in sight.

I’ve mentioned this before, but October has been good to me. I got even more amazing news about a really cool project that will be coming up next year and I’ve been working away on it. I feel like things are clicking into place, little by little, the way that they sometimes do. As I’ve watched the month fly by, I’ve also been enjoying a few things in it. They were small things that I’ve appreciated, so I thought I’d share.

dscf1209

Before I get to it, I wanted to say that I have a lot of really fun ideas for holiday blog posts, but I’m just not sure when to start doing them! Maybe mid-November? Is anytime before that acceptable at all?

dscf1212

Ok, back to the favorites:

Hempz Pomegranate Body Lotion

Even though the weather hasn’t turned freezing quite yet, it is so incredibly dry. We haven’t had rain in forever, at least not a long-lasting rain that really nourishes the ground. And as a result, my body is so dry. I use this after I shower and I try to put it on my legs and arms, focusing on the dry patches near my elbows and kneecaps and all that fun stuff. I never feel sticky or gross after using it, so it really absorbs into my skins nicely. Also, pomegranate scents are glorious.

Crabtree & Evelyn Body Wash in Rose (Not Pictured, Sorry!)

I got this a little while ago and I absolutely love the smell of it. I use it sometimes in the shower, but mostly I drip it into my bath as the water is filling to make beautiful-smelling bubbles. The formula is light and stays on your skin without giving you a headache (the way that some do) and I find it very relaxing. I was going to put it in these pictures but it was in the shower, and someone was using the shower, so…

dscf1213

Emily Dickinson’s Selected Poems

I took a break with novels for a bit this month and shifted to poetry because I’m going to be writing a lot next month and I needed to give my brain a break. My dad got me this at Barnes and Noble and not only is the cover beautiful, but the poetry is timeless and elegant and perfect for the fall and winter.

NaNoWriMo PrepΒ 

If I haven’t said this enough, I’m doing NaNoWriMo! I’ve been preparing so much every day to try and get ideas for my story so that when november 1st comes around, I’m ready.

I’ve been watching lots of Youtube videos of people prepping as well, and people doing vlogs from last year to see how the writing was going. It seems, in one word, stressful. But I am convinced that I’ve got this. There are great resources on the actual NaNoWriMo website that I highly recommend checking out. There are podcasts that I listened to and general writing guides and character analysis things. It’s all extremely exciting and I can’t wait to start.

 

So that’s what I’ve been really interested in so far this month. I am going to be doing some really cool things this weekend that I hope to share with you, and in general, I am hoping to end this month off good. There is a really cool supermoon coming up in November that I’m hoping to get a glimpse of. Hopefully it brings some positivity and balance into our lives. I hope everyone has a great weekend!

If you want to catch up with me on social media, you can check out my Instagram, Tumblr, and Pinterest!

Talk to you soon,

-Heather

Leave a Reply

