Book Club: December 4th, 2016

dscf5105

I finally read The Bell Jar. I think I am totally behind on reading this, and I’m so happy I finally bought it and read it.

dscf5106

How can I explain The Bell Jar? It was sometimes slow, sometimes fast, but most of all, it was sad. I read a lot about Sylvia before I read it, so I knew which parts she was taking from her own life. There were parts that actually made me cry.

There were also times that I felt that the plot fell a bit short, and that the central theme to the book is that the narrator is spiraling into madness, rather than any big events actually happening in her life. It was all very interesting just the same.

dscf5107

In all, I would give this 3/5 stars. 

Favorite quote from the book:

“If neurotic is wanting two mutually exclusive things at one and the same time, then I’m neurotic as hell. I’ll be flying back and forth between one mutually exclusive thing and another for the rest of my days.”

 

As for now, I’m giving my brain a break from novels. I speed-wrote one for NaNoWriMo, and I think my mind needs some rest. I’ll probably be dabbling in poetry for a bit.

If you want to see what else I’m up to, you can catch up with me on Instagram, Tumblr, and Pinterest!

Talk to you soon,

-Heather

Leave a Reply

