Winter Night-Time Routine

dscf5118

-Turn off electronics

Just do it!

-Warm up

I use a hot water bottle or a heated blanket. This completely relaxes me on a cold winter night.

dscf5121

-Turn on Christmas lights

This is the season of light. I truly believe that. When the sun won’t stay up in the sky as long, it’s great to get into the routine of turning on your (hundreds and hundreds of) Christmas lights.

There is something beautiful about lighting up an interior with little twinkles everywhere. I have lights up year-round, but there’s obviously way more right now.

I got these beautiful LED’s that look wonderful around minimal holiday decor.

-Catch up on TV shows

The nights are cold and the energy gets focused inside of the home. Because of this, sharing stories with families and friends by watching movies and TV shows is comforting and exciting. Some of my favorites right now are The Crown, Parks and Rec, and The Office. The warmth of being by the fire and drinking wine and hot chocolate with people you love is irreplaceable. It’s one of my favorite parts of the season.

I also MIGHT keep watching Pretty Little Liars since I have to recap before the last season.

dscf5122

-Scroll on Tumblr/Pinterest

This is where I break the electronics rule.

-Spend time in front of the fire

I suggest cuddling with a pet.

-Get ready for bed

This involves taking off my makeup and brushing my teeth, cleansing, moisturizing, etc. This can sometimes be the hardest time of the night for me. I often get so tired that I don’t feel like doing anything of these things and would rather just crawl to the bed.

Lately I have been using my Clarisonic to buff off any lasting makeup before bed. I think this is really effective at getting rid of dead skin as well, and I have an abundance of that with the chilly weather. The cleanser I’ve been using is so silky and smooth that my skin feels so fresh after. I follow up with a night cream.

I end all my nights snuggled up with extra blankets. There is a beautiful thing about staying warm in the middle of a freezing night. I just moved my bed next to my window, and I love waking up to beautiful snow on the ground. That tends to motivate me to get some sleep. The wintry morning awaits.

 

What is your night-time routine?

-Heather

footer

Leave a Reply

