Nearer (A Trip to a Bookstore)

nh1

I recently read a poem by C.S. Lewis that goes like this:

“If you want to get warm you must stand near the fire: if  you want to be wet you must get into the water. If you want joy, power, peace, eternal life, you must get close to, or even into, the thing that has them.”

I have found that the best thing for me is to love things abundantly and to do something as soon as I have the urge to do that thing. Sometimes the concept of something in our minds is enticing, but the act of doing it becomes a burden.

One example is that I loved bookstores and I constantly complained that there were none if close proximity to me like there were when I was in Boston. The truth is that I just wasn’t trying very hard, I was in my head dreaming of them instead of looking them up and getting out of the house and exploring. So today, this is what we did. We got up out of our usual lives and we ventured out just a little bit and we explored in a beautiful new place.

nh2

The bookstore that we went to was called Broadstreet Books in Northampton, MA.

nh3

Bookstores are magic, and not just because they are beautiful inside with many treasures to buy, but because they house hundreds of whispers waiting to speak to us, waiting under our fingertips as we hover over their spines. They allow us to wander through stories, through countries, through gardens, through fantasies, through history, space and beyond. Walking into a bookstore is like greeting endless strangers that are staring silently for us to discover them.

nh4

Here I am contemplating how many hundreds of books will be taken home today. (I actually only bought 1, and I am proud of that)

If you are going to a bookstore, let me give you some important advice, go with someone you trust, or go alone. I cannot tell you the amount of times I have stepped into an otherworldly bookstore and was rushed along because I was with people who are just simply not book people (beware of those). When you know you will go to a bookstore, only bring people that will also get lost alongside you amongst the shelves and won’t meddle with your searching. The space is special, charged with calming energy, and the wrong people can ruin that. Bring those who have beautiful souls who are willing to stick it out while you peruse.

nh5

 

What are you favorite bookstores to go to? Or perhaps you prefer the library? I happened to by my third Emily Dickinson book, as well as some gifts for friends. We got dinner and chocolate after, and I feel very, very good about my day of getting nearer to the things I love.

If you want to see what I’m up to, you can check out my Instagram, Tumblr, and Pinterest!

-Heather

footer

4 thoughts on “Nearer (A Trip to a Bookstore)

Leave a Reply

