“February, when the days of winter seem endless..”

dscf5435dscf5457

The days of winter have been dragging on and I have been quietly falling into a solemn slump. I wasn’t aware of this at all until I realized that no matter how many hours I sleep at night and how many naps I take in the day I just cannot pull myself out of exhaustion. I suppose this is what February feels like. The snow keeps glittering down and I’m grateful for it, as it’s beautiful and we will need the water when it melts, but it also makes me shiver and curl up into the corners of my baths. Even when the sun reaches it’s highest point, I find the light to be a glare and I cover my head with blankets and snooze some more. I think I’ve got the winter blues.

I wait all year for winter. It is my absolute favorite seasons, and in the boiling heat of summer, I close my eyes and imagine the cold and the white puffs of snow and the icy tree branches. Now that it’s here, I find myself complaining about it. I must be a dreaming hypocrite.

But this time is very special and slow, because once this freeze is over and the forest starts to thaw, spring comes and picks up momentum and suddenly you find yourself with armfuls of new projects. So for right now, I am enjoying this slow, tired, lackadaisical time because I know it will not last. If you are looking for me, I’ll be inside of a book or a blanket or a bathtub.

dscf5465dscf5445

Shirt- Forever 21

Skirt – H&M

Parka – HollisterΒ 

Side note, did you notice a change in anything? I now have red hair! Like, really red. I feel a bit fiery, but I still can’t seem to untangle from my blankets.

Talk to you soon,

-Heather

 

3 thoughts on ““February, when the days of winter seem endless..”

Leave a Reply

