There & Back Again (A Hobbit Terrarium DIY)

hobbit1hobbit2

I called my brother downstairs and asked him if he could possibly help me make Bilbo’s hobbit hole from The Hobbit. I should have known that he would make something spectacular, something wildly more impressive than I could ever dream of making, and he made it all in one night. I am putting this out there, all the credit for this project goes to him, I just came up with the idea! The first thing we did was shave down a piece of foam with a floral knife to get the hill shape of the hobbit hole. This part was a lot of trial and error and shaving it down and shaping it just right. It also made a mess, so be prepared with a trash bag!

hobbit3

The next think that we did (and continued to do) was fit the foam inside the terrarium. I bought this at Michael’s and had been eyeing it for some time. It’s on sale right now, so I couldn’t turn it down. It was the perfect size of a little hobbit home.

After fitting the foam inside, more shaving and shaping was done until it looked perfect. I also have to give a shout out to my brother for being so meticulous, as he wanted to make sure everything was formatted right and would sit right inside the terrarium. Depending on what shape you get, your hobbit hole might look different. We took into account that we would probably need room for moss, so we shaped it and then put moss inside to feel it out. Our little hill is a crescent semicircle that the front of the house will be put onto. The flat side is where your door will go.Β 

We looked up photos from the movies of what his house looked like, but I also am reading the illustrated version right now which has a gorgeous picture of Bilbo’s home. Our goal was to make it look whimsical and cozy.

hobbit4

The detailing was all done with the cardboard from an old cereal box that he carved with an exacto knife.

hobbit5hobbit6hobbit7

We glued the moss on top when done and were left with this beautiful little structure! He even draped some moss hanging over the edge the mountain, which I think is so cute.

Bilbo goes up the steps to his house, so my brother made stones out of foam by carving them and painting them perfectly!

I can definitely see Gandalf walking up to this door to trick Bilbo into an adventure. I also think it’s the cutest accessory for anyone who loves the terrarium trend but also loves literature!

hobbit8

 

What do you think of our project? I am so excited to set this up in my room and maybe hang it from the ceiling. Maybe if this goes over well, we can make more with other books/movies/tv shows. I was so excited to share this here and showcase my brother’s talents! I love this addition to the decor in my room.

“I have found that it is the small

everyday deeds of ordinary folk

that keep the darkness at bay.Β 

Small acts of kindness

and love.”

-Gandalf

8 thoughts on “There & Back Again (A Hobbit Terrarium DIY)

Leave a Reply

