Book Club: March 2nd 2017

dscf5665dscf5669

Reading about Georgia O’Keeffe through her letters was an incredible experience because it was so intimate and personal that you really felt as though she might be writing to you. I have limited knowledge of this great American artist before reading the book Georgia O’Keeffe Art and Letters, and now I feel that my eyes have been opened to her genius and peculiar personality. Like most of my favorite artists, she did not crave the limelight, but found herself enveloped in the process of her work and the subjects that she loved to paint.

Her relationships with people seemed to determine the way her personality appeared to each person, as some saw her in one light and others saw her in entirely another. But what I found so relatable was the sacred way she kept to herself, using privacy and aloneness as inspiration and expression.

dscf5670

I really highly recommend this book, especially for art lovers out there. I will say though that it is a huge book, and reading in bed or in bathtubs might not be preferable.

Favorite quote:

“If you take a flower in your hand and really look at it, it’s your world for a moment.”

If you have read this book, please let me know what you thought! I was lucky enough to see an exhibit at the MFA in Boston that had O’Keeffe’s paintings, and I was really blown away by her talent.

If you want to see what else I’m up to, catch me on Instagram, Tumblr, and Pinterest!

Talk to you soon,

-Heather

2 thoughts on “Book Club: March 2nd 2017

Leave a Reply

