Navigating a Personal Crisis

DSCF5689

Hello Everyone,

I haven’t undergone a major life crisis, but over the past few weeks, I’ve had many small personal ones. It’s funny, sometimes little situations or changes can make me feel icky and unsettled, like I need a new layer of skin to shield me from everyone else. These things came up for various areas of my life, and I had to learn how to persevere, the way we all do from one time to another.

DSCF5690DSCF5692

Here is some advice if you have felt abandoned or lonely or out-of-sorts: Life goes on as long as you are deciding that it does. Buy yourself some flowers, make yourself some coffee, put on your favorite records, light your candles at night, go to sleep early, go to sleep late, watch all your favorite shows, buy ice cream in the middle of winter, kiss your dog, hug your friend, draw something, write something, play the piano (poorly), buy a book you may never read, and be happy. There are things changing in my life and I don’t always have control over that, but I realized that while sadness may always come in life, so can happiness. Sometimes they exist at exactly the same time.

“I’ve learned that whenever I decide something with an 

open heart, I usually make the right decision. I’ve learned that even when

I have pains, I don’t have to be one. I’ve learned that every day you should 

reach out and touch someone.”

-Maya Angelou 

 

Leave a Reply

