Positivity

DSCF5729

Hello Everyone,

Something that has become very important to me over the years (and especially over the course of this month) has been positivity in the middle of everyday life. It can be hard to remember that being positive is possible, especially when we are faced with little challenges from the moment we wake up until we are falling asleep. Going through life and through the processes of our tasks can turn into being on auto-pilot, which maybe isn’t negative as much as it is neutral. But something woke me up recently, and I remembered that I am very much alive, not a robot, and I’d like to be fully awake for it. Part of that meant looking at things more positively.

Here’s the thing, when I am more present and aware of what is happening currently, it’s much easier for me to let go of the other stuff. That tends to be the stuff that clogs my brain and makes me second guess things. Being too much in my own head doesn’t allow me to appreciate the idea of anything, let alone appreciate things that are currently happening. Part of that is worrying. I think that if comparison is the thief of joy, than worrying is the thief of positivity. Worrying feels like it is getting so much accomplished, but it only feels that way because it’s hard work, and nothing positive ever comes of it.

DSCF5731

Here’s my small and humble tidbit of advice: Create your own positivity and allow it to help you see things for how they really are 

In other news, I have been binge watching The Great British Baking Show, so I have been lusting over cakes and biscuits and pastries. The result is late nights eating lots of key lime pie. I also just finally finished my bedroom, and I am so incredibly pleased with it. I’m hoping to take some more pictures in it now. Waking up to freshly painted walls and clean surfaces is just the thing I needed. Maybe it’s only natural that I am feeling more positive after a room remodel?

“When you start to feel like things should have been better this year, remember the mountains and valleys that got you here. They are not accidents. And those moments weren’t in vain. You are not the same, you are grown and you are growing. You are breathing, you are living. You are wrapped in endless boundless grace. And things will get better. There is more to you than yesterday.”

-Morgan Harper Nichols

Leave a Reply

