On the Grounds of Edith Wharton

DSCF5800

Today the sun was finally shining on us strong enough to warm up the air, and we took advantage of it with a little day trip.

Lenox, MA is home to many talented individuals, famous and not, and being in the area is exciting. The appeal is apparent. The woods are lush but not too dense, and the rolling hills are beautiful, even without any leaves on the trees. I was itching to get to The Mount, which is the enormous estate that the talented Edith Wharton built and lived in. The house is closed up and won’t open again until it gets warmer, but the grounds were all ours to roam.

I had been here once before, but I didn’t know who lived here, and even if I had, I doubt I would have understood the significance. The walk to the mansion was beautiful and sunny, and I imagined if Edith strolled along those roads while she pondered her latest writings. I like to think so.

DSCF5802

The estate is impressive, but the gardens are what interest me. And even though nothing is in bloom right now, the skeletons of all the dormant plants are beautiful. The way the gardens are laid out give the feeling of some sort of labyrinth, and the mysterious vines hang eerily over the old stone. I tip-toed under the arches and pondered what a hot summer night must be like here. I’m guessing it must be some sort of heaven.

I can’t imagine living in a place like this, but I’m sure a well-off famous author could. You might get yourself turned around, thinking you are really in some scene from Harry Potter, but a glance up at the home will remind you that you’re in the heart of New England. I felt suddenly very lucky that I get to live in this great state.

One can only imagine what this place must look like in the fall. Both times I’ve come have been off season, but they were still extremely pleasing experiences.

DSCF5808

Something I’ve noticed from visiting great mansions like this is that the grandness of it sometimes leads you to miss the details of things. I tried to really take in the grounds, as the next time I come here will probably in the summer when we can do a home tour. Today, I took my time and roamed amongst the large shrubs and trees. I tried to hone in on those little details, the things that we sometimes look over. Some of these little buds were stretching off the vines and I couldn’t help but reach out and touch them with the very tips of my fingers.

DSCF5795DSCF5788DSCF5798DSCF5805

Let me know if any of you frequently go to Lenox, or if you’ve been to Edith Wharton’s home. I thought it was incredibly breathtaking. I truly did not want to leave.

 

“Set wide the window. 

Let me drink the day.”

-Edith Wharton

 

Leave a Reply

